Day 8 Seedlings by Curlydock

It is often difficult to know what is sprouting in the garden. Is it something I planted or a volunteer? I sometimes keep a volunteer, but not always.

broccoli seedling

As a winter project, I decided to germinate some things and keep track of them with a webcam. In future, I can look at the pictures to help me figure out what is in the garden.

broccoli seedling
I currently have 12 different seedlings growing in small pots in a southern window. If this works well, I may extend the project to include other garden plants and “weed” seedlings as well.

chard
These are my first pictures for this particular project. They are of the seedlings mature enough to display discernable details. The others are still too small.

radish seedling

If these pictures are of interst or use to you, please leave a comment to that effect. I am open to suggestions on how to do this better. I have some drawing talent and may someday include drawings of plants.

rapini
If you want to support my work, some of my art and photography is for sale in a gallery I just started.

My gallery is found at http://eulif.imagekind.com/bucolic .

Published in: on November 24, 2006 at 8:40 pm  Comments (30)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://curlydock.wordpress.com/2006/11/24/day-8-seedlings-by-curlydock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. These pictures are awesome. I used them to identify my radishes.

  2. Red Icculus:
    Thanks for your comment. I hope to add more pictures like this some day.
    curlydock

  3. Thanks for the pics of the broccoli seedlings. I planted some in my Manhattan garden, but I never know what is coming from the wilds and what are seeds I scattered in. I was just lambasting myself for being a fool and not starting them inside, when your pics saved me from lopping the poor heads of of those guys.

    Good luck with the plants!

    Judd

  4. Judd:

    Thanks for your feedback. I am glad that the pictures are working for people.

    When I started gardening, one of the first problems I noticed was being able to tell if sprouts were what I planted or something else that volunteered.

    One technique is planting your seeds in a row. Only what you planted will come up in the row. Anything growing randomly all over the place will be something else.

    But I also sometimes like to broadcast a bunch of different seeds randomly together just to see how they affect each other. I thought it might be a way to discover new companion plant combinations.

    Sometimes I will let a “weed” grow and keep it cultivated. Many “weeds” are tasty and nutritious.

    One of the best coffee substitutes, as far as flavor goes, is freshly roasted dandelion root. You can buy it in some stores, but the root you dry and roast yourself seems to taste much better (While I’m on the subject, roasted chickpeas also make a pretty good coffee substitute).

    I roasted my dandelion root sample by putting the dried pieces in the oven where my bread was baking. When the bread was done, so was the root.

    Then I ground the root with a mortar and pestle and steeped it as you would tea.

    It seems such a shame we have to work so hard to get some things to grow for us. We have to worry about crowding out, disease, insect pests and animals that compete for the goodies. Seems to me it would make more sense to take fullest advantage of what already grows in an area that requires little or no maintenance.

    That would make us more gatherers than gardeners, which is just fine by me if I can only make it work.

    Curlydock

  5. Loved the pics, I’m preparing to “weed” and need to know exactly which ones to leave there! 🙂 More pics would be helpful, but thanks a bunch!

  6. Tracy:

    Glad to be of help.

    Another idea has occurred:

    Perhaps, someday, I will collect “weed” seeds and sprout them in a controlled way. Taking pictures will, if I am a little lucky, let me know just exactly what “weed” is growing in my garden before I pull it. Some “weeds” are useful and I might want to let a few grow!

    Another approach would be to keep a mystery seedling that has sprouted in the garden and take pictures or make sketches of it over time until it has developed to the point where it can be identified. Next time, I should be able to identify it at an earlier stage.

    Might sound like a lot of work, but how much more interesting it would be than watching TV!

    Reality is better than reality shows.

    We have been (deliberately, I suspect) alienated from nature. The resulting disorientation and depression drives us to unhealthy addictions and is exploited by the “masters” who profit from selling us things we don’t really need.

    Just so, they keep themselves enriched and us enslaved and impoverished. By ubiquitous propaganda they keep us divided among ourselves and fighting each other over the crumbs.

    That might seem off-topic, but it is the essence of the struggle of my life.
    That struggle is the foundation of everything I do. I feel imprisoned in our skewed sick culture and my chief comfort is the patient plotting of my escape.

    Curlydock

  7. I came across your site while trying to figure out what the heck my broccoli should look like when it comes up. We’ve been avoiding weeding the area because we can’t see anything in particular, besides a lot of weeds. Alas, I can see from your pictures that broccoli and radish starts look very similar and we have a bunch of wild radish. I hope I haven’t pulled any of the broccoli by mistake. These pictures are very helpful, thanks!

  8. Your photos were great, I was able to distinguish which were my baby plants from the weeds. Thanks so much.

    • M:
      Thanks. Your comment will help encourage me to publish more seedling photos.
      Curlydock

  9. Attractive component tto content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in
    accession capiktal to claim that I acquire actually loved account your blog posts.
    Anywway I will be subscribing to your augment or even I
    success you get right of entry too constantly fast.

  10. I visit daily a few sites and sites to read articles or
    reviews, except this website offers quality
    based content.

  11. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the good works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  12. You could definitely see your expertise within the work you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.

    Always follow your heart.

  13. Subsequently, the movie thumbnails should also be submitted on the machine, again
    having their very own URLs. And if you really purchase the customis SEO solutions
    you’ll also be somewhat poorer.

  14. You will want to appear your best and scent fantastic.

    Verify it out, especially if youre overburdened with housework and ankle-biters.

    Original and genuine choose up lines and a couple of corny choose
    up lines as well!

  15. Publications and several movies are derived from an idea much like Gattaca.
    Brandon Phillips and Votto were out from the lineup for the Whites.
    I heard that the video was great, so I had to find out for myself.

  16. Some cons are that the Nerd is only accessible in the pack,
    that is, you can’t purchase it individually. At current, there are many mobile manufacturing businesses in the mobile phone marketplace.

  17. Traditional or classical furniture that have beautiful but very complicated designs, are normally
    made from cast aluminum, one of the most abundant element on earth
    it means that it is easily moved around. Wrought iron
    and steel. Hanamint outdoor furniture also has
    seating sets and benches for aluminum cast furniture patio your garden.

  18. A lot of the plans provided by Cydia are free. If you like to view videos and surf
    the web then this is a great choice. Such offers are definitely fraud and you need to stay away from them.

  19. Sandra Lee from Food Network has created a money-saving version of the traditional spaghetti and
    meatballs recipe. There are twentyeight mandala coloring pages with this website.
    I frequently get around 2 treatments with one container.

  20. Can you operate Skype on a non Wifi community for
    free? This sport has a fairly simple concept but is incredibly addicting.

    Note, you can also select to change your bootlogos here in purchase.

  21. Baseband is really a element of iOS which controls your
    link with the service network. There are approximately 40 objectives desperate to be complete about the single-player mode.
    This iPhone scenario costs $29.95.

  22. You can track your finger throughout the eye socket and acquire recommended of its shape.
    To put it differently it is the outside contour of the head.
    It’s the surprise the lasts a very long time.

  23. At first glimpse, it will need to have viewed a whole lot worse than it basically was.
    Then I observed the cases of alcohol moving in and out and believed that they had been just begun for by the celebration.

  24. I’ve learn some just right stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how much effort you put to make this sort
    of excellent informative site.

  25. Hi every one, here every one is sharing such experience, therefore it’s good to read this
    webpage, and I used to visit this website everyday.

  26. As the admin of this web page is working, no question very shortly it will be renowned,
    due to its feature contents.

  27. This post provides clear idea in support of the new viewers of blogging,
    that in fact how to do blogging.

  28. This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how
    you presented it. Too cool!

  29. A broad dentist doesn’t have knowledge or the features to accomplish restorative treatments.
    Homeowners don’t should permit their not enough floral understanding
    damage blooms’ season.


Leave a Reply

