Last Single-Mirror Solar Oven Simulation Test

by Curlydock
Nov 24, 2007

In my previous couple of posts I showed some of the results of tests of a program I wrote to simulate what I call a “kaleidoscopic” type solar oven. In earlier posts I detail the actual oven I use to bake bread. I wanted to see how to build a better oven of this type, so I wrote the simulation for ray-tracing various reflector sizes, shapes, quantities and configurations.

This post will cover what I hope is the last of the one-reflector tests. I wish to begin tests of two-mirror simulations in the next post.

nov1026a.jpg

Graph “nov1026a” shows the results of five runs with a single equilateral triangular reflector in the plane of the horizon. That reflector I frequently refer to as “R3”. Five sweeps of the sun from zero degrees (horizon) to 90 degrees (zenith) are shown, one sweep for each size of R3. The sides are all equal and are measured in cavity diameters. The smallest R3 is 2.0 and the largest is 8.0 cavity diameters on a side. The cavity bounding sphere is represented by the ball that is aways in the corner farthest from the sun when the sun is on the horizon.

Observe that the gain never exceeds 2.0 and never falls below 1.0. This is consistent with my expectations of what happens with only one mirror and increases my confidence in the simulator.

Rule 1026a

Also observe that the increment of improvement in gain decreases as R3 gets larger. Large mirrors increase the gain when the sun is at lower angles but the reflector has to get perhaps impractically large to produce these gains. At solar angles above about 20.0 degrees, it hardly seems worth having a floor reflector larger than 4.0 cavity diameters on a side. This is more than my prejudice up until now, which was that 3.0 cavity diameters on a side was the practical limit. The actual oven I made has only 3.0. So, the next time I build one of these ovens I will probably go with 4.0. It depends on what else we learn when more reflectors are in play.

“Rule 1026a” is, then: the triangular reflector always parallel with the plane of the horizon, that is the one the cavity is above, should be sized to about 4.0 cavity diameters on a side, physical practicality permitting, and probably not less than 3.0.

Now I combine this rule with rule 1010a from the previous post, which said the cavity should be elevated. That results in chart “1027a”:

nov1027a.jpg

For this run I kept the mirror sized to 8.0 cavity diameters on a side and elevated the bottom of the cavity from just touching R3 to where the bottom of the cavity is 0.5 cavity diameters over R3. Otherwise the run and chart calibration are the same.

Again, the gain never exceeds 2.0 and never falls below 1.0, which is good.

Also note that elevating the cavity improves gain when the sun is at higher angles. This is consistent with what we learned in the prior post and was to be expected. The simulation still seems to work. For this configuration, with the cavity elevated, the range of sun angles with the maximum gain of 2.0 is much larger.

In a prior post I expressed some doubt about whether the simulation was following the ray trace through an arbitrary number of reflections or breaking off too soon. I later discovered that was indeed a problem. But it only affected simulations of more than one mirror, none of which I had published yet. I fixed the bug and am now confident that I am ready to do multi-mirror tests. In the next post we will see some results using two reflectors. Those reflectors are the ones I have named “R1” and “R2” in prior posts. They are linked by a vertical hinge and open like a book over the plane of R3. R3 will be put aside while we consider only R1 and R2 and will return probably much later when three-mirror tests begin.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://curlydock.wordpress.com/2007/11/26/last-single-mirror-solar-oven-simulation-test/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

42 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. thats a good site i like it but you have to put video of mirror solar cooker

  2. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post.
    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  3. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to
    no backup. Do you have any methods to protect
    against hackers?

  4. One of the newest notebooks introduced by HCL may be the HCL MiLeap
    X series. This car simply pushes on premium gasoline, so if you buy one used, you better anticipate to spend at the pumps.
    Wanting to see more fire this time around!

  5. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!

    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him.
    Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  6. This game is simply as addictive as tap shop. It Is A novel method
    of increasing feedback on almost anything. If you set the alarm
    for a particular period on Jan 1, you’d miss it.

  7. Thankfully, operating wasn’t Ron Howard’s interest.
    It will take around an hour or so to acquire
    applied to the settings. PS3 cost about 250-300 dollars.
    the prices vary. “I’ve played every GTA (around the consoles) since GTA3.

  8. We will discuss the points later in this segment.

    These deals include contract deal, spend as you go and Sim totally free
    deals. The cost could go up as much as $50 for each handset.
    You will need the IMEI for doing all this.

  9. Clearly understand the reason powering the owner promoting off his gadget.
    It is anticipated that Apple will connect these suggested retail costs for the Apple iphone
    five. You can actually appear for this plan on the internet.

  10. Would you like to begin making more money form
    your Fap turbo robot, while trading at a reduced risk exposure?

  11. That includes things like a helpful lockscreen,
    various SMS applications, and more. Apple has produced
    this Apple iphone using ios4 operating method that is its personal product.
    Yup, apparently its heading to work on the iPad.

  12. Ahaa, its pleasant conversation concerning this post at this place at this weblog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting at this place.

  13. Yes! Finally something about Enough.

  14. First “Heir” champion Richard Hatch has become the forerunner of reality TV legal problems.

    It is a software program that has several programs, like MyWi and My3g.
    To love a bloom we do not have to pick it.

  15. I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers however this paragraph is actually a fastidious article, keep
    it up.

  16. Obviously, there may be some individuals who don’t have these lessons or are out-of-school.
    There are several fantastic party ideas for a Nice Nancy Occasion. Continue until there
    is only one Magic Carpet Driver quit playing!

  17. Să vizitați o listă de site-uri cu scurte descrieri de fiecare site.

  18. Valkryia Chronicles for the PS3 is really a
    great case of this. They can not be too feminine if you need
    him to play games with you. PaRapper the Rapper: yo, YO,
    yo, check my circulation!

  19. The point is the aspect screen that can be utilized to open up and close the application. Don’t worry if you don’t order enough – there is always space for more
    in the long term.

  20. It’s hardly inadvisable should you didn’t previously to save SHSH blobs, did.
    Can be your iPhone Mobile 4 caught about the Apple logo with all the spinning wheel?

  21. I visited multiple sites however the audio quality for
    audio songs current at this website is really wonderful.

  22. I am curious to find out what blog platform you have been utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I’d like to
    find something more safeguarded. Do you have
    any recommendations?

  23. I’d like to find out more? I’d want to find out some additional information.

  24. Hello, I read your blogs daily. Your writing style is witty, keep up the good work!

  25. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This post
    posted at this website is really fastidious.

  26. Fantastic items from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff previous to
    and you’re simply too wonderful. I really like what you have acquired
    right here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which in which you are
    saying it. You’re making it enjoyable and you still take care of
    to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a tremendous web site.

  27. I just couldn’t depart your website prior to suggesting that I really
    enjoyed the usual info a person supply in your visitors?
    Is going to be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  28. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people
    consider worries that they plainly don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  29. This is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and sit up for in search of extra of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

  30. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site.

    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site now ;
    )

  31. In this sport, you can grow crops, create harvest creatures, houses, and more.
    It is quite simple to use Facebook marketing. I hope you have fixed your trouble
    using these remedies.

  32. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    help from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where
    to start. Do you have any points or suggestions?

    Cheers

  33. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  34. Site-uri au devenit unele dintre cele must-have lucrurile din jurul WorldWideWeb .

  35. You can also use it to consider photos or set voice reminders for your self.

    It is true that Facebook House will be checking your activities, your telephone activities and
    your downloads.

  36. You can consider them skating but you cannot really share and chat
    cracks in a pool now can you? You should always ask your self this concern. There are numerous styles as possible select from.

  37. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored material
    stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over
    that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly
    again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case
    you shield this hike.

  38. Oh, the ever changing world of social-media! The Supreme Court
    has interpreted that to mean that we also have the best
    TO not chat. Undoubtedly, it’s also the most truly effective and secure approach accessible.

  39. First, you have to understand what girls want – and that is
    no easy question to answer, but there’s a
    solution. Bill Haley and the Comets used to Move, Rattle and
    Roll. Why are their eyes so cold and absent of feeling?7.

  40. Only pay for Netflix service and you will get value
    for money. But recently, I really had the conclusion that
    Television is not the same. The device comes with NetCast for
    CinemaNow and facebook.

  41. Overall, the iPad is just a practical tool for a writer like myself.
    This device will have a mini USB which will enable you to move the rapid information for your and out of your
    device.

  42. I set this money in to a family savings I popped at the
    regional lender for us. Finally multiplayer gambling online’s possibility can be
    unavailable. Yes, there’s not merely a single type of pain.


Leave a Reply

